Ads by Muslim Ad Network

World Celebrates `Eid Al-Adha on August 11

`Eid Al-Adha is expected to start on Sunday, August 11, after Saudi officials have confirmed that the moon of Dhul-Hijjah was sighted on Thursday, August 1.

“Dhul Hijjah’s crescent was reportedly seen in Saudi Arabia’s Tumair observatory, marking the beginning of the month in which the Islamic Hajj takes place,” Al-Arabiya reported.

`Eid Al-Adha will also start Sunday, August 11, in Egypt, Qatar, Kuwait, the United Arab Emirates, Bahrain, and Jordan which follow the country of the ritual, i.e. Saudi Arabia.

The Ministry of Religious Affairs of Indonesia on Thursday confirmed that the first day of the Islamic months of Dhul Hijjah would be August 2. Therefore, `Eid Al-Adha will begin on Sunday, August 11, Khaleej Times reported.

Meanwhile, the Australian National Imams Council (ANIC) announced on its Facebook page that it awaits the official announcement of Saudi Arabia on the commencement of the month of Dhul Hijjah.

Ads by Muslim Ad Network

In India, Pakistan, Bangaldesh, Sri Lanka and other South Asian countries the Moon Sighting Committees, Hilal Committees and Central Ruet-e-Hilal Committee will meet tomorrow i.e. Friday August 02, 2019 to decide on the sighting of the Dhul Hajjah moon, Ummid reported.

On the other hand, moon sighting committees in Oman have not been able to see the Dhul Hijjah moon for AH1440, according to Ministry of Endowments and Religious Affairs, Times of Oman reported.

The Sultan of Sokoto and president general of the Nigerian Supreme Council for Islamic Affairs (NSCIA), Alhaji Muhammad Sa’ad Abubakar III, has directed Muslims across the country to look out for the new moon today, Thursday, August 1.

Eid Al-Adha

`Eid Al-Adha, or “Feast of Sacrifice”, is one of the two most important Islamic celebrations, together with `Eid Al-Fitr.

It begins with special prayers to mark the day, Muslims then offer udhiyah, a ritual that commemorates the great act of sacrifice Prophet Ibrahim and his son Isma`eel were willing to make for the sake of Allah.

Festivities and merriment then start with visits to friends and relatives.

Traditionally, everyone wears new clothes for `Eid, and the children look forward to gifts and the traditional `ediya (cash).


Hajj: Pillar of Islam

One of the five pillars of Islam, hajj consists of several ceremonies, which are meant to symbolize the essential concepts of the Islamic faith, and to commemorate the trials of Prophet Abraham and his family.

Every able-bodied adult Muslim — who can financially afford the trip — must perform hajj once in their lifetime.