fbpx


Français

Can Muslims Consume Vegan Products?

03 August, 2022
Q As-salam alalykum. I would like to ask if it is permissible for Muslims to consume vegan products?

Answer

Wa `alaykum As-Salamu wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh

In the Name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful. 

All praise and thanks are due to Allah, and peace and blessings be upon His Messenger.

Ads by Muslim Ad Network


In this fatwa:

There is nothing wrong in consuming or using vegan products.


In his response to your question, Sheikh Ahmad Kutty, a senior lecturer and Islamic scholar at the Islamic Institute of Toronto, Ontario, Canada, states:

I see nothing wrong in consuming or using vegan products. We know that a vegan product is free of animal products, and therefore it is plant-based.

Ads by Muslim Ad Network

You need not be nit-picking. Such an attitude is not the way of the Sunnah. Neither Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) nor his Companions (may Allah be pleased with them all) or any of the pious predecessors indulged in such nit-picking approaches.

The Prophet said, “Woe to those who are nit-picking in their approach to religion.” (Muslim)

He also said:

“This religion of ours is easy to practice; whoever makes it rigid will only defeat himself (i.e. he will end up giving it up).” (Al-Bukhari and Muslim)

You may consume products labelled as vegan unless you have a reasonable ground to suspect otherwise. This was the approach taken by the Prophet and the pious predecessors.

While respecting your concern to eat halal, I would advise you to focus on far more important aspects of the meaning of halal: the ethical living and practicing morality which are the true essence of the meaning of halal in Islam.

Almighty Allah knows best.

Source: www.askthescholar.com