Ads by Muslim Ad Network

Is It Halal to Eat Food Cooked with Wine?

16 September, 2023
Q As-salamu `alaykum. Some steak dishes or chickens served in restaurants are cooked with wine. So, is it unlawful (haram) to eat such food?


Wa `alaykum as-Salamu wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakatuh.

In the Name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful.

All praise and thanks are due to Allah, and peace and blessings be upon His Messenger.

In this fatwa:

As for your question, wine is not allowed in any form. So, it is not allowed for Muslims to cook or eat food cooked with wine.

Ads by Muslim Ad Network

In his response to the question, Dr. Muzammil Siddiqi, former president of the Islamic Society of North America (ISNA), states:

Wine is haram according to the Qur’an and the Sunnah. Allah Almighty says, “O you who believe, wine and games of chance and idols and divining arrows are only an abomination from the deeds of Satan. Leave it aside in order that you may receive felicity. (Al-Ma’idah 5:90)

Hence, it is not allowed for Muslims to use wine in any form or shape.

Once cooked, it is true that the wine may not retain its alcoholic elements, but according to the Qur’an, a Muslim must shun it and must not come near wine and drinking.

Cooking food with wine or consuming such food may lessen the prohibition of wine in the minds of Muslims. For example, if the wine becomes vinegar, it becomes pure, but Muslims are not allowed to purchase wine, in order to make vinegar.

In a similar fashion, one can say that it is not allowed for Muslims to mix or cook food with wine. And if there is any food offered that was mixed or cooked with wine, then Muslims should not consume it.

Allah Almighty knows best.

Editor’s note: This fatwa is from Ask the Scholar’s archive and was originally published at an earlier date.