In the Name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful.
All praise and thanks are due to Allah, and peace and blessings be upon His Messenger.
Thanks for your important question. May Allah guide us all to the best, both in this world and in the Hereafter.
One of the basic objectives of the Shari`ah is to remove and alleviate whatever physical or psychological harm one faces in his daily life. In this regard, there will be no harm if the person uses certain types of alcohol that are not impure and at the same time not unlawful to use. Indeed, there are different types of alcohol and each type has its own ruling.
Responding to the question, the Islamic Religious Council of Singapore, states,
Thank you for your query. We commend your effort to seek the truth in the religion.
Usually, the alcohol used in commercial products is synthetically made from chemical reaction, which is cheaper than a type produced from the fermentation of carbohydrates such as grapes and rice. Synthetic alcohol is not najis (ritually impure). But alcohol made from the fermentation of carbohydrates is najis. This is because synthetic alcohol is very poisonous and thus cannot be consumed by humans; whereas alcohol produced by the fermentation of carbohydrates is consumable, although it is haram. Therefore, using products containing synthetically produced alcohol is allowable and will not nullify the Prayer.
We hope that this reply answers your question. Please continue to seek religious knowledge at mosques or by reading authentic Islamic material.
Allah Almighty knows best.